CRAFTY: Flower Crowns | 6.10.17

I’ve really wanted to do a photoshoot with my daughter before her 6th birthday in August. The more pregnant I get, though, the more I’ve doubted that I’d actually get it done. I think I just made the cutoff, because whew! The photoshoot itself was incredibly taxing, especially for how cooperative my girl was. At one point only about 15 minutes into shooting I had to go back to my car, which was only 10 feet away, and take a break. My feet felt like they were on the verge of exploding beneath me!

My daughter’s hair is at an all-time long length and I really wanted to do a flower crown photo shoot with her. I’d considered trying to buy a flower crown, but for how expensive they are online it seemed silly when it appeared to be an actually doable do-it-yourself.

We’re a bit strapped for cash this week and my husband offered to take the family to Michael’s for our flower crown supplies, figuring fake flowers to cost at most $15 total. He thought the project and photos would make for a fun, inexpensive day… at least for the ladies. Turns out: fake flowers are not cheap. My daughter and I were swooning over a giant sunflower until we checked the price tag: $19.99! For one flower! So we scaled back our dreamy flower wishlist, and tried to only choose the essentials. My daughter wasn’t very pleased that I hadn’t intended to buy any pink flowers, pink being her favorite color but unfortunately not one of the colors on the dress I’d chosen for the photoshoot, so we compromised and got a little bouquet of small pink flowers to make a flower crown for her current favorite baby doll.

flowercrown1.jpg

Once we got all set up and I figured out how to actually use the floral tape, it went pretty smoothly and I really enjoyed making them!

flowercrown2flowercrown3flowercrown4

 

And the final products:

flowercrown7

flowercrown5.jpg

 

The weather went from a beautiful sunny day this morning to overcast and chilly by the evening, but I couldn’t wait to take the photos! Luckily, overcast days are lovely to take pictures in. I’d spotted a small area near the neighborhood drainage ditch that leads out to the lake that is lush, overgrown and green, with beautiful wild mustard plants all around.  I envisioned having her positioned right in the center of the divide, but once we pulled up to the area I realized the better location was actually right next to that. There is a tiny beaten trail going directly through the wild mustard and leading off towards the lake area.

Besides my near foot explosion, having to take it easy, and also calling it quits before I’d have liked to, the photos went very well and my daughter didn’t pull nearly as many stone faced expressions as she normally does when I point a camera at her for too long.

When I got home and began editing, I was taken aback by just how lovely this little human of ours is.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

So, maybe it wasn’t the least expensive day ever, but it certainly was rewarding. I’m very thankful I had the opportunity to express my crafty and artistic sides, and I am especially grateful for the time I spent making my little girl feel like a princess today. Thanks for making it happen, babe. 😉

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Blume Bauer says:

    Oh my goodness. Romy is such a stunning girl and the photos are gorgeous! Great job on the flower crowns, they turned out so cute. BTW, if you want to do them again, the Dollar Tree (not dollar store or 99cent store) has great flowers and floral tape. For $20, everyone on your block could have floral crowns. lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Blume: Thank you! And I will definitely have to check out the Dollar Tree next time because jeez did those got pricey for just a little bundle!

    Like

Leave a Reply

